Ingles – 1305 Falston Rd.
Ingles – 1818 W. Dixon Blvd.
Khodal Mini Mart
M & M General Store
Mikes – 517 N. Lafayette St.
Mikes – 400 N Post Rd.
Mikes – 805 Earl Rd.
One Stop/Scotchman – 2040 E. Dixon Blvd.
One Stop/Scotchman – 1208 E. Marion St.
One Stop/Scotchman – 900 Fallston Rd.
Rite Aid – 330 W. Dixon Blvd.
Rite Aid – 1170 E. Marion St.
Shelby Quick Mart
Southern Store – 400 W. Dixon Blvd.
Southern Store – 224 S. Lafayette St.
Tony’s Chip and Sip
Walgreens – 820 N. Dekalb St.
Walgreens- 231 E. Dixon Blvd.
74 Stop and Shop
Compliant retailers list, 7/1/2015 to 12/31/2015.
Preventing Purchase/Use of Tip Line
As a community member, your role in preventing underage drinking is just as important as that of parents and guardians. If you suspect that minors may be involved in underage drinking, that an adult is providing alcohol to minors or that a retailer is selling to underage persons,
please contact our tip line, 1-888-207-0702.
Checking & Spotting a Fake ID
Pay attention to North Carolina’s “stoplight theme” for licenses.
North Carolina law states that you must be at least 21 years old to consume, possess or buy alcohol. It is also illegal to sell or serve alcoholic beverages to anyone under 21 years old.
According to North Carolina’s Alcoholic Beverage Control Quick Guide, North Carolina licenses use a “stoplight” theme to make identification or underage persons easy. A colored border around the photo on a NC driver’s license indicates the person’s age.
- Underage for tobacco and alcohol (ages 15-17)
- Vertical license
- Legal for tobacco, but not alcohol (ages 18-20)
- Look carefully at birth date and expiration date; patrol may be 21
- May be vertical or horizontal license
- Legal for tobacco and alcohol (ages 21+)
- Horizontal license
Acceptable Forms of Identification
In North Carolina, there are only four acceptable forms of identification a person can use to purchase alcohol.
- Current driver’s licenses
- US Military Identification
- North Carolina Identification Card
- Official passport issues by any nation
Tips for Checking IDs and Spotting a Fake ID
Check the photo.
- Compare the photo and card details with the person in front of you. Many physical appearances such as weight, hair and even eye color can change but height typically remains the same.
Go with your instinct.
- If you have a feeling that the ID you have been presented with is fake, you have the right to refuse a sale and won’t incur any legal recourse.
Check for the appropriate security features.
- North Carolina’s Alcoholic Beverage Control Commission indicates that NC driver’s licenses have several holograms and watermarks – an airplane in the middle, all 100 county names listed along the top edge, several NC DMV logos and others.
- Fake IDs are typically made from heavy cardstock paper laminated together. If the edges look worn or frayed, then the ID is likely fake.
Legal Consequences of Providing Alcohol to Underage Drinkers
1st offense 12-day suspension OR $1,200
2nd offense 24-day suspension OR $2,400
3rd offense 30-day suspension OR 5-day suspension and $3,500
4th offense 50-day suspension OR 15-day suspension and $5,000
Retailer employees who are caught selling alcohol to an underage customer could face charges including:
A minimum $250 fine
A minimum 25 hours of community service
If the employee has been convicted of the same charge within the past 4 years, their charges increase to a minimum $500 fine and 150 hours of community service.
Right to Refuse
As a retailer, you play a large and important role in preventing underage drinking. If you suspect that an adult is buying alcohol for minors waiting outside of your establishment, you can refuse the sale/sell without incurring legal implications.
Responsible Alcohol Seller/Server Training - RAST
For more information or to register for training, contact:
Det. J. D. Turner
Shelby Police Department
Free responsible alcohol server/seller training (RAST) for on-premise and off-premise merchants and their employees is conducted quarterly by the Shelby Police Department Alcoholic Beverage Control Office. The training program lasts 1-2 hours and incorporates lecture, hands on, and discussion. A certificate of completion is provided for participants at the end of the course. Business owners are encouraged to send new employees to this training.
The training covers such topics as:
- Sales to underage or intoxicated
- ID’s – acceptable, fake, altered and look-a-likes
- Laws – Dram Shop, Happy Hour, etc.
2015 training dates are:
- May 12, 2015, 2:00 p.m.
- August 11, 2015, 2:00 p.m.
- November 17, 2015, 2:00 p.m.
The trainings, held at the Shelby Police Department, are limited to 12 participates but the location may be moved if more than 12 participants sign up. The trainer will also bring training on-site to a business when requested.